To Help or Not To Help….

turner field

Jake Diamond, retired Major League baseball player turned Private Eye, is the main protagonist of my current Work In Progress (WIP). His dilemma? To help or not to help an old colleague who is in deep trouble. Trouble that includes someone trying to kill him.

Of course, Jake decides to help, or there wouldn’t be a book.  It’s the usual PI story. Or is it?

When a writer begins a new work, and starts out with a premise that looks cliché, how to turn that on its head? How to make something old into something new? What kind of twist will keep the reader turning the pages after the initial set-up?

What kinds of things could Jake discover during his investigation that would be different from the usual PI mystery? Would you need to do some new world-building in order to jerk the reader into the idea that, “Wait a minute! This isn’t what I thought at all!”?

These are some of the questions I asked myself as I began this journey. Since I have always loved baseball, that part of it is easy. The hard part is making baseball an integral part of the mystery without being too pedantic, without information overload. This is where I am at the moment.

I have figured out what to do in my WIP. I know what Jake is going to find out. I know why the antagonist does what happens, and who the criminal really is. But, no, I’m not telling you what I came up with. You’ll have to read the book to find out.

Leave a Reply

