Louisiana Bound!

typewriter

I’m on the road again, so glad to be on the road ag….oops. Hi there! Sitting here in my hotel room, watching TV with my hubby, about halfway to New Orleans to visit relatives. ( I found out yesterday that the Romantic Times convention is in town part of this next week. Guess who’s gonna try to sneak in and say hello!)

As I drove our rental car through Central and North Florida, I noticed the trees and the plants changing as we got further away from our home in South Florida. Palm trees giving way to pines; pines giving way to oaks, maples, and the occasional magnolia tree by the side of the road. Rain beginning as we turned West, feathering the front window and cleaning off the dreaded Love Bug infestation.

What are Love Bugs, you ask? They are the scourge of driving and even walking during two times of the year. Now and the end of the summer, when all the babies they made by hanging in midair having some fun are out making their own babies. They join up, the female in front, the male in back ( no more details; there might be impressionable minds reading this blog), the female flying with all her might, trying to GET AWAY from the male who is, ahem, attached to her never to go away.

Especially when the loving idiotic bugs are flying IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD and impact on the front, side, back, middle, windshields of all the cars driving on the roads.

Writing, putting things down on cyberpaper, keeping up with my life, all these go together. Even when I’m not “writing” I am. Ideas flow through your brain. Ping ponging around in your brain, ideas flowing free form through the keyboard can inform your life. And life comes through your eyes and heart and experience, and out on the page through your madly typing fingers.  Communicating ideas and hopes and dreams through my stories and blog is how I keep in touch with the world. Even when I’m madly out of touch with “reality”, I am weaving truth into the whole cloth of fiction, hoping that the reader will get the point.

I try not to slam the book over their heads with my ideas and dreams, but sneak these things into the edges and sidelong glances of my characters. Giving their lives reality.

So, here I sit, listening to music and thinking of all the friends and readers who will peruse this blog. And hoping that this method of communication called fiction writing can change a heart, open a mind, and guide someone onto a new way of thinking.

Till next time. Write well and read.

 

Leave a Reply

