Exploring New Orleans

Audubon Zoo New Orleans LA

Thinking about families, and memories and fun, today we spent about 3 hours hanging out with my cousins and my aunt for dinner. Of course, no matter how much we asked her not to, she cooked. And it was delicious! We had pulled pork BBQ, stuffed eggs, green beans, mashed potatoes, and tossed salad. The best part was the two desserts: my aunt’s homemade Pecan Pie Muffins and sliced Happy Mother’s Day chocolate cake. To complement the meal (See, Guy, I was listening), fresh brewed coffee and conversation.

My aim for tomorrow is to drive over to Audubon Zoo so my hubby can have some fun watching the animals, and maybe even ride the train. I don’t know if the train is still there, but that ride became the highlight of every trip down here when we were children.

After that, who knows? Lots to do: going to Baton Rouge to see other family; meeting a local writer friend downtown and walking the French Quarter; taking my hubby for some beignets and cafe au lait; visiting the World War II Museum downtown; and many other choices.

The end of the week promises to be even better because I plan to attempt something I’ve never done before: sneak into a hotel restaurant where a national conference is taking place, and see old friends who have no idea I’m coming. That is, unless they happen to read this blog.

New Orleans has a myriad of things to recommend it, not the least of which is the very spirit of the place that enabled the people to drag the city out of the muck and mire of Hurricane Katrina, shining once more as the Birthplace of Jazz.

I hope to hear some jazz this week. Maybe I’ll even get to sing some. Maybe I’ll get lucky and run into Scott Bakula filming NCIS-New Orleans. You just never know.

Until tomorrow, write well and write often.

Leave a Reply

