I actually won something! Looking forward to being a devious person…in the book, guys, in the book!

Mystery Writers Key West Fest Announces Walk-On Role Winner

Key West, Florida Keys – Rebecca Swope of Boca Raton, Florida, has won a walk-on cameo appearance in award-winning author Sandra Balzo’s next Maggy Thorsen coffeehouse novel, ninth in the mystery series that has just been optioned for possible development as a television series.

The walk-on prize contest was an early registration promotion for the Mystery Writers Key West Fest, which is launching its inaugural event June 13-15. A writer herself, who specializes in romantic suspense, sci-fi/fantasy and Southern memoir stories, Swope commented that she is “looking forward to causing mayhem in Sandra Balzo’s fictional world,” and would prefer the role of a criminal. 

“I love creating memorable characters,” commented Balzo, “but coming up with equally memorable names for them—ones that won’t be confused with other characters--is really tough for me. I have a penchant for the letter “M” and, if I’m not careful, I’d end up with all Meghans, Michaels and Marys. That means I’m doubly happy to welcome Rebecca Swopes (neither, you notice, an “M” name) to Maggy (yes, I know) Thorsen’s fictional world. I just can’t promise what’ll happen to her when she gets there.”

Mystery Writers Key West Fest Announces Walk-On Role Winner

Key West, Florida Keys – Rebecca Swope of Boca Raton, Florida, has won a walk-on cameo appearance in award-winning author Sandra Balzo’s next Maggy Thorsen coffeehouse novel, ninth in the mystery series that has just been optioned for possible development as a television series.

The walk-on prize contest was an early registration promotion for the Mystery Writers Key West Fest, which is launching its inaugural event June 13-15. A writer herself, who specializes in romantic suspense, sci-fi/fantasy and Southern memoir stories, Swope commented that she is “looking forward to causing mayhem in Sandra Balzo’s fictional world,” and would prefer the role of a criminal.

“I love creating memorable characters,” commented Balzo, “but coming up with equally memorable names for them—ones that won’t be confused with other characters–is really tough for me. I have a penchant for the letter “M” and, if I’m not careful, I’d end up with all Meghans, Michaels and Marys. That means I’m doubly happy to welcome Rebecca Swopes (neither, you notice, an “M” name) to Maggy (yes, I know) Thorsen’s fictional world. I just can’t promise what’ll happen to her when she gets there.”

Leave a Reply

