Finally Back In The Saddle Again…

typewriter

Hi, folks. Sorry I haven’t posted in a while. My life has been so busy lately. Up in the morning, write, eat lunch, write, take a nap, write, eat dinner, go to church event, go to sleep. And that’s just the surface.

For the past two weekends, my husband and I visited various parts of our individual families. Last week, we travelled to Sebring to visit with Bill’s youngest son, Steven, and hear him sing a solo at his church on Sunday. We had a great time with Steven, and his singing was beautiful! He has a wonderful baritone voice.

This weekend, Bill and I went to my younger sister’s in Palm Bay to spend the weekend. Bill watched TV and played with Debby’s cats, while Debby and I, on Saturday, drove over to Orlando to visit with our two youngest sisters. Kathy, who is actually no longer a baby and hasn’t been for some time, had been at a conference in Tampa with her husband about church missional community living, and stayed the weekend with Vicky, our other sister. The four of us spent the day together and had a great time. I really didn’t care where we went or what we did, because the four of us haven’t been all together in the 10 years (this September) since our Daddy passed away in South Carolina.

I had the great fun of sitting in the back seat of Vicky’s car as we drove to a restaurant for lunch. For once, I wasn’t the one doing all the talking. (At this point, everyone in my family is nodding, yep….).

Our ages aren’t that far apart as between me and the youngest (Kathy) there is less than 7 years. We have a brother who is in the middle age-wise, poor guy. Growing up for him must have been very interesting.

After lunch at Carrabba’s (where we had the funniest and best server), we drove over to the west side of Orlando to Winter Garden, to see Vicky’s husband Jack, and his oldest son, John at UNO’s, a pizza place across the street from the Home Goods where we were headed. I hadn’t seen John since he was 14 years old. And some of you might recognize him when I type his full name. John Parrott is one of the best young worship leader/pastors in the south.

After shopping at Home Goods, we headed back to Vicky’s and spent most of the afternoon just talking. On my part, I spent it listening to these wonderful Christian women and mothers who I am privileged to call my sisters.

Debbie and I headed back to Palm Bay and picked up Chinese take-out on the way home. Our hubbies were waiting for us. We had a great time together at dinner, then just collapsed by 9 pm. Bill and I returned home after church and eating brunch at Ozzie’s Crab House on Federal Highway. I was so very glad to get back home and sleep in my own bed, but I treasure every moment I spent with my sisters. Facebook is good for staying in touch, but it pales in comparison to sitting on a couch, watching your sisters talk and laugh and be with you.

I wouldn’t trade them for the world. And I hope they know how much I love them.

So why all this on the blog? Simple. If you have family, even if you’re estranged, don’t turn your back on them completely. Love them regardless. Because you never know when that bond will be broken by death.

Leave a comment